sundress jumpsuit culottes

Untitled

Ever since I worked out some basic blocks I’ve been into drafting my own patterns, even when they are inspired by other patterns. I wanted to jump in on the #anorlaaffair contest based on the free Orla dress pattern from French Navy Now. Of course, I didn’t finish in time for the contest, but here it is now!

The Orla is a woven pattern with a gathered, slightly raised waist and short sleeves. I decided to go crazy and do a sleeveless knit based on the shape. I grabbed my bodice block and went to town. Then I went completely wild and drafted jumpsuit style culottes. Oh yeah!

Untitled

I drafted a generous scoop for the back neckline so I could be sure I would be able to slip it on. The fabric is a lovely smooth very stretch knit rayon spandex, so the neckline was more than wide enough.

Untitled

I finished the neckline and armholes with strips of binding cut from the fabric. Accidentally I sewed the neckline join at the front. I fixed that little error by sewing a vintage mother-of-pearl button from my button stash over it.

vintage button

The sundress/jumpsuit/culottes experiment turned out a success. I don’t usually wear dresses for everyday outfits, but this one is super comfy due to the stretchy fabric (secret pj”s!) and sporty  because of the culottes.

Leave a comment